Review: Burt’s Bees lip balm series / 評論: Burt’s Bees 唇膏系列

May 24, 2012 § 2 Comments

Taking care of my lips has been a tricky goal to reach. They get dry and chapped fairly easily and I have been struggling to find the perfect lip balm that not only moisturizes my lips, but also soothe and hydrate them underneath. Sometimes I do wonder if it is a mission impossible because I have come across a few that’s making my lips even drier??? Until one day I came across the lip balm series by Burt’s Bee!!

I have been eyeing on them for some time now as they are another brand striving for natural and eco-friendly skincare products, I have heard good reviews about them. Finally the pharmacy close to where I worked had a promotion on them and I knew I just had to try them out, and I am surely happy I did!! They not only moisturize well, they also deeply hydrate the fragile skin and my lips certainly flake less. I simply fell in love with them over the past year.

I started with their Beeswax Lip Balm and oh dear me, it is extremely cooling and tingles a little because of the peppermint content which I had to get used to after a while. Though it is really soothing and moisturizing which keeps the flakes at bay! Yay!! Plus I love its tender sweetness which is mild and not too overpowering. I then moved on to its Honey Lip Balm. This is richer than the one above and it is full of the pleasing honey scent. It does not give me the tingling feeling but it sure protects my lips very well. Very easy to use as it glides smoothly on my dried lips.

Since I bought them as a packet on special, I was really curious what would the Replenishing Lip Balm with Pomegranate Oil feels like!! So I jumped to it without even finishing the honey one (how greedy!!), so I have been using these three interchangeably for quite some time. And oh my word, I think I have found my ideal lip balm at last!! It is slightly greasier than the other two, but the richness gets absorbed very easily and my lips would feel like desert finally received its deserving rain, seriously!! It also gives me a fruity fragrance so absolutely a delight to use!! Pomegranate oil just started being a star ingredient in my skincare range as it provides extra soothing and hydrating effect.  I actually decided using it as my night lip balm, especially before I go to bed.

Each tube would last me about 2 to 3 months, which is pretty reasonable to me~ Since I have been alternating amongst the three, they pretty much lasted over 9 months!! So when it is time to restock, I chose Burt’s Bee again, yet with two different flavours, Nourishing Lip Balm with Mango Butter and Rejuvenating Lip Balm with Açaí Berry. I’d say that the nourishing lip balm is just as rich as and as effective as the honey lip balm, or perhaps sits in between the honey one and the pomegranate one. Personally I feel it did not hydrate as well as it claims to be, and I do find the sugary mango scent a bit overpowering. It’d be great if it is a dessert though LOL The rejuvenating lip balm is just as superb as the replenishing one, and yes it is extremely soothing and sweet, with a lovely berry taste. The balm does not feel as greasy as the pomegranate one so at times I feel like I need to rub it on my lips a bit more so I’d get enough ‘coating’ to protect them. Though I’d say that both the replenishing and the rejuvenating balm are perfect for winter!

Overall, I really like the lip balms from Burt’s Bees as all of them did what I expect them to do, so I am a total convert now. Another bonus I love about them is that they do not leave a weird aftertaste on my cup after I drink water, which some of the lip balms of different brands do, and it is absolutely disgusting!! My favourite is still the replenishing lip balm with pomegranate oil, closely followed by the rejuvenating lip balm with açaí berry. And to be honest I will only repurchase these two coz you really only need a few really good lip balms instead of a whole stash right?

  ° ◦╰ ◦ ° ◦ ╮ღ╭ ◦ ° ◦  ╯◦ °

想要好好保養我的嘴唇真的是一項很難達成的目標;因為它們很容易乾裂,所以要找到既保濕又補水的唇膏真的很困難。有些唇膏我是越擦越乾呢!我有時候甚至懷疑這根本是不是不可能的任務啊?直到有一天我遇到了我的救星:FFCC66小蜜蜂爺爺的唇膏系列 。

我其實已經觀察這牌子觀察很久了。他們也是一個提倡以天然以及環保為宗旨的保養品牌,而且我也從很多地方得知他們的口碑很不錯。有一次離我上班很近的一間藥妝店剛好在促銷他們的唇膏,我怎麼能夠錯過這個機會咧?當然就馬上給它們買回家囉~用了之後我就知道我的決定是對的!這牌子的唇膏非常地滋潤又保濕,擦了它們之後我的唇部乾裂的現象也逐漸減少了。過去這一年我基本上就拜倒在它們的石榴裙下了 XD

我先用他們的蜂蠟護脣膏,而天啊!因為它含有薄荷的關係擦上去好涼,一開始還有點不適應呢!但其實擦上去感覺挺滋潤的,而最主要的是我的嘴唇乾裂的次數變少了~耶!!這支唇膏也帶有很清淡的香甜味,令人感覺挺舒服的。之後我又用了蜂蜜護唇膏;這比先前的更滋潤一點,而且充滿了濃郁的蜂蜜香味。它沒有涼涼的刺激感,但是卻也把我的雙唇保護得很好!使用時也只要輕輕地滑過嘴唇,很方便。

既然我是買小蜜蜂爺爺的特價唇膏組合我也就迫不及待地想快點體驗石榴保濕滋潤護唇膏到底有多讚,所以我在還沒有用完前面兩個唇膏前也將它拆封了(天音:真是貪心哦~~)。之後有一段時間我大概就是這三支唇膏相替交換用吧。重點是,我想我大概找到我心目中理想的護唇膏了!天啊~真是感動!!它是三者裡面最滋潤的,觸感也稍微油一點,但是非常容易被吸收;用過之後就好像那乾熱的沙漠總算等到一場難得的大雨,真神啊!因為石榴油的關係這也帶有甜甜的果香味,用起來非常舒適。因為它有令我出乎意料的滋潤及保濕成度,石榴油最近大概成為我在保養品裡的不可或缺的要素了吧!我之後甚至把它當作晚上專用的護唇膏,尤其是在睡前更要抹上一層這保護層呢!

Pomegranate Fruits. Español: Una granada, frut...

All the natural goodness form pomegranate fruit ~ 淺藏在石榴裡天然優質的精華

每一條唇膏我大概會用 2~3 個月,這對我來說是個合理的使用範圍。既然我是三隻連著用,它們也陪伴我快 10 個月了吧?!在補貨時我當然還是選這牌子囉,不過是另外兩種配方:保濕芒果護唇膏以及巴西莓果性感護唇膏(我其實有點搞不懂為啥台灣一定要多加 “性感” 這兩個字)。對我來說這芒果唇膏和蜂蜜唇膏的滋潤度差不多,或許介於蜂蜜和石榴油唇膏之間吧。個人覺得它不錯用但是沒有像它官網上所說得那麼好… 剛開始用的時候覺得它很香甜,真的有想吃吃看的衝動,但之後覺得這香味有點太濃了(又不是甜點!),如果淡一點會更好。而巴西莓果唇膏跟石榴唇膏一樣地優!非常地滋潤,也帶有莓類的芳香,用起來挺享受的。唯一比較不一樣的是它的觸感沒有石榴唇膏油,所以有時候我得在唇上抹多一點。但是這莓果根石榴這兩支唇膏絕對很適合冬天乾冷的季節使用。

總而言之,我真的超愛小蜜蜂爺爺的唇膏系列,因為它們完成了先前其他唇膏無法達到的使命。另一個好處是這些唇膏也不會在我喝過的杯子上留下奇怪的餘味;我之前有用過幾個會在杯子上留下一股油味,現在想想還真是噁心。我目前最愛的還是石榴保濕滋潤護唇膏,而巴西莓果唇膏排列第二。但說老實話,我如果以後再補貨的話我也可能只會買這兩隻了。對我來說東西一定要用最好的,但是數量不一定要多 ;)

Do Not Copy ~ Copyright Policy
請勿抄襲 ~ 版權聲明

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Review: Burt’s Bees lip balm series / 評論: Burt’s Bees 唇膏系列

  • Same here. I am total convert. Burt’s Bees Pomegranate Lip Balm is my Holy Grail, and I compare everything to it. Once I finish my current stash of lip balms, I will just repurchase Burt’s Bees and stick to it.

    • Carrie says:

      I am glad you feel the same way! The pomegranate lip balm is just my saviour for now. The one with acai berry is pretty good too. You could try that next time if your local store starts a promotion ;)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Burt’s Bees lip balm series / 評論: Burt’s Bees 唇膏系列 at A Hoard of Goodwill 善意的生活私藏.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

