The unknown damages of crossing legs / 翹腳不為人知的害處

March 6, 2012 § 5 Comments

Everywhere I go I see a lot of ladies sitting with their legs crossed around the knee thinking to themselves that this is the way to be elegant; and I have been accustomed to this manner even since I was a child without realizing the damage it could do. My mom, a Hatha yoga instructor,  has been nagging that sitting like this long term will cause a tilted pelvis, which will cause more pain and suffering if I am giving birth to a child (OK, she is putting her concerns way ahead of the game, but she does have a point!). Though a bad habit is such a difficult thing to drop!!! It just happens unconsciously and yes you may have guessed it, I do have a slightly tilted pelvis at my right hip, which is obvious when I am wearing tighter skirts or pants!! >”<

Though it wasn’t until recently when I come across an image shared on Facebook from the Apple Daily (a Taiwanese press) published in 2004 which fully outlined the drawbacks in detail (please refer to the picture below). Such position not only tilts your pelvis, but it also curves your spines. So if you have frequent back pain and sore waist/lower back yet not sure why, this may be the answer. According to the image, crossinImageg legs also tilts your shoulder and create tension around one side of your shoulder and neck, which makes that area sore. Moreover, it makes your legs go numb due to blood does not circulate properly when the capillaries and nerves are pressed together.

Some sources indicate prolonged sitting with legs crossed contribute to varicose and spider veins, while one even suggests increased cardiovascular risk . Yet there are also articles disputing such theory (and here). Nevertheless, I will still try to remember not to cross my legs in the future, given the previous harmful consequences I talked about above. What about you?

° ◦╰ ◦ ° ◦ ╮ღ╭ ◦ ° ◦  ╯◦ °

不管去到哪我常常看到許多女士坐著都會翹腳,認為這是很優雅的坐姿;而其實我從小也習慣這樣做,卻根本不知道這樣對健康有什麼危害。我的媽媽是一位哈達瑜珈老師,所以也一天到晚對我的姿勢碎碎念,甚至還說我這樣導致骨盆不正以後生小孩會很困難(好啦!她這樣有點扯太遠了,不過她說的基本上都是實話...不得不承認啊!)但這養成已久的壞習慣還真是很難馬上改掉。常常無意識地就會把腳翹起來,不過我想你也猜到了,我的骨盆確實有往右上偏一點,而且不管我穿裙子或是褲子都還蠻明顯的...囧”

直到最近我在 Facebook 看Image到網友轉發蘋果日報於2004年的報導圖片而有所警悟,因為裡面很清楚地標示翹腿種種的不好(請看上圖或是此連結)。翹腿這姿勢不僅讓你的骨盆歪斜,也會導致脊椎測彎,也就是裡面所謂的C 型脊椎。因此如果你時常會腰酸背痛也許就是翹腳造成的。根據報導,翹腳也會讓肩膀斜傾,導致一邊的肩膀及脖子肌肉緊繃造成酸痛。此外,也因為翹腳會壓迫微血管以及神經,導致血液流通不順,時常會引發腳麻。

有些消息指出長期翹腿會導致靜脈曲張以及微血管擴張*,甚至有增加心血管疾病機率*的可能。

然而也有消息反對這項論點*(及這裡*)。不過基於先前討論過的種種壞處,我想我還是會試著記得坐著的時候不要翹腳。那麼你呢?

*英文資料

Do Not Copy ~ Copyright Policy
請勿抄襲 ~ 版權聲明

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to The unknown damages of crossing legs / 翹腳不為人知的害處

  • madamenyc9 says:

    好可怕。。。没旧了。。

  • Author says:

    I have heard rumblings that crossing ones legs is bad for them in many ways. I never knew these ways. I have been trying to stop but it is a hard habit to break simply because it seems more ‘polite’ and ‘lady like’ to cross them.
    Thanks for the info🙂

    • Carrie says:

      You are right! It’s a bad habit that we’ve gotten ourselves into, I am also makeing progress and constantly reminding myself not to cross legs when sitting =P I have recently found a way to stop that which also helps shaping the thighs too~ Will blog about it when I finished writing my other projects😉

  • click here says:

    Cool post . Thanks for, writing on my blog mate. Ill message you some time. I did not know that!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The unknown damages of crossing legs / 翹腳不為人知的害處 at A Hoard of Goodwill 善意的生活私藏.

meta

